Columbus AFB welcomes new Honorary Commanders

  • Published
  • By Danielle Knight
  • 14th Flying Training Wing Public Affairs

COLUMBUS AIR FORCE BASE, Miss. – The 14th Flying Training Wing hosted an induction ceremony May 20 at the Columbus Event Center on Columbus Air Force Base, Mississippi to recognize its newest honorary commanders.

This year, over 70 people attended the hail and farewell reception, and seven new honorary commanders were inducted.

The Honorary Commander Program was developed to pair community and civic leaders with specific units on base. The program strengthens the relationship between the wing and the surrounding community and connects the base and local partners in a more intimate and personal way. It also allows local leaders to fully immerse with Air Force culture and experience the mission of 14th Flying Training Wing firsthand: to train world-class pilots. 

Julia Morrison, head of marketing and recruiting at East Mississippi Community College and 14th Communications Squadron honorary commander, spoke of her excitement and the future of working with the military community.

“East Mississippi Community College has been involved with the base in a lot of different ways, Morrison said. “I am grateful to be selected for this honor so I can lean into the base and get to know the people here more intimately.”

For at least the next two years, honorary commanders are connected and engaged with their designated military unit and are expected to be a bridge to the community for military members and learn and interact with the whole unit. The commander of the designated unit will invite their honorary commander to unit events and help the honorary commanders build support for Columbus AFB and its mission activities.

“We get to bring a few new honorary commanders into the fold,” Col. Seth Graham, 14th Flying Training Wing commander said. “Too often the physical fence line that surrounds this installation becomes a barrier between our Airmen, the Air Force, and our community… but the community includes the Airmen. We are the same, and we thank you for your partnership.”