UPT Class 24-06 Graduation

  • Published
  • By TSgt Javier Cruz
  • 14th Flying Training Wing

Twenty-eight Undergraduate Pilot Training 2.5 student pilots of Class 24-06, graduated on 15 March 2024, at the Kaye Auditorium on Columbus Air Force Base, Miss. The UPT 2.5 graduation ceremony officially marks the completion of initial flight training in the T-6 Texan II as students earn their wings and begin the next phase of advanced pilot training for the Air Force’s newest pilots.  

Pilots advance to graduate training in one of two new programs: Air Mobility Fundamentals (AMF), or Fighter/Bomber Fundamentals F/BF. These new programs, like UPT 2.5, capitalize on and incorporate modern training tools and methods that provide a unique advantage through innovation. 

AMF currently leverages the “Mid-Tier Device,” a simulator that replicates the T-1A Jayhawk, to prepare graduates for mobility or tanker platforms. The Air Force’s first-ever F/BF class began at CAFB in June 2023. The new program both combines and streamlines legacy T-38 Graduate Pilot Training GPT and T-38 Introduction to Fighter Fundamentals IFF into a unified syllabus for graduates continuing on to fighter or bomber platforms. 

The Class 24-06 graduation speaker was Col. Joseph Matt Dietz, United States Air Force Academy, Department Head with specialties in Military History, Policy, and Strategy. As an Air Force F-15E instructor pilot, he logged more than 2,500 flight hours during his career, deployed in support of Operations Enduring Freedom, Iraqi Freedom, and Inherent Resolve. Additionally, he served as a NATO planner for Operation Unified Protector and was the Director of Operations for US Air Forces Central Command. 

Students are also recognized with additional accolades through academic and professional military achievement such as: Order of Daedalians AETC Commander’s Trophy, Distinguished Graduate Award, Academic Award, Military Training Award and Flying Training Award. 

CLASS 24-06 Graduates 

2nd Lt. Briana M. Barnett 

2nd Lt. Nolan G. Benigni 

2nd Lt. Kathryn M. Christmas 

2nd Lt. Caleb A. Davis 

2nd Lt. William W. Dillinger 

2nd Lt. William H. Edinger 

2nd Lt. Elijah W. Edwards 

2nd Lt. Bryce M. Eighmey 

2nd Lt. Lance H. Fry (Order of Daedalians AETC Commander’s Trophy, Distinguished Graduate, Flying Training Award) 

2nd Lt. Joseph M. Harms 

1st Lt. Jacob A. Hughes 

2nd Lt. Ryan G. Ioanidis 

2nd Lt. Donald B. Jenkins 

2nd Lt. Kyle L. Kramer (Distinguished Graduate, Military Training Award) 

2nd Lt. Regan F. Lemaire 

2nd Lt. Lucas O. Tjugum 

1st Lt. Matthew J. Steiner (Distinguished Graduate, Academic Award) 

2nd Lt. Jordan T. Stoiber 

1st Lt. Kade J. Sundvall 

2nd Lt. Daniel N. Mauchly 

2nd Lt. Brock M. Miles 

2nd Lt. Aaron Miranda 

1st Lt. Noah M. Qiu 

2nd Lt. Taylor D. Rutstein 

2nd Lt. Reid D. Scarborough 

2nd Lt. Tyler R. Smith 

2nd Lt. Eugene B. Smith 

2nd Lt. Sarah Y. Snyder