Columbus observes Old Glory's birthday
The American Flag of 1818, the third flag of our country, is the only flag with 15 stars and 15 stripes. This flag flew over Ft. McHenry when Francis Scott Key wrote the Star Spangled Banner. All subsequent flags has 13 stripes, representing the 13 original colonies and had a star added to represent each state in the Union. (U.S. Air Force photo by Airman 1st Class Beaux Hebert)

Download Image: Full Size (1.08 MB)
Photo by: Senior Airman John Day |  VIRIN: 170615-F-PJ007-1008.JPG